Friday, April 11, 2008

Gianluigi Trovesi & Gianni Coscia ::: In cerca di cibo

ECM debut for an enormously appealing duo that plays Italian roots music. Jazz is one component, but North Italian folk traditions predominate, alongside music of the classical tradition, film and theatre music, hints of mazurka, tango, klezmer and more. The music Trovesi and Coscia celebrate on "In cerca di cibo" --it means "in search of nourishment" - is deeply and touchingly nostalgic. It is music that is, by turns yearning, mournful, humourous, joyous, poetic, and sentimental. N.B: Liner notes for this release are by Umberto Eco

Gianluigi Trovesi: clarinets
Gianni Coscia: accordion

01 In cerca di cibo
02 Gepetto
03 Villanella
04 Il Postino
05 Minor Dance
06 Pinocchio - in groppa al tonno (piano)
07 Django (Donadona)
08 Pinocchio - in groppa al tonno (forte)
09 Le giostra di Piazza Savona
10 Lucignolo
11 Tre bimbi di campagna
12 Celebre Mazurka alterata
13 Fata Turchina
14 El Choclo
15 In cerca di cibo

1999 • ECM 1703
> 192 kbps VBR

In cerca di cibo


Anonymous said...

Thanks for this, Cianfulli! I'm a big fan of Trovesi's music, as well as the accordeon. I've heard this duo years ago on accordeon, and I loved it. Trovesi's warm bass clarinet tone and Cosci's exquisite accordeon play isn't Jazz nor tradition (like you wrote) - it's something unique, maybe comparable to what Sclavis or Portal made in France, and what critics tagged 'Imaginary Folklore'.

btw - your review of this record is just visible untill the end of line. The sentence doesn't 'break' on the end of line, but just stopps - when I copied and pasted it into a text program, everything was there. Maybe you have fumbled around your html? At the "Tod, Trauer.." post not long ago everything was fine...

Cheers, Lucky

cianfulli said...

I can read it correctly both with IE and Safari

Anonymous said...

no kidding! well, must be a firefox problem, then - never had it on any other side.

Anonymous said...

I'm getting this message from RS: "This file has been deleted.
Reason: THIS FILE IS FORBIDDEN TO BE SHARED! Complaints received."

Any chance of another upload?

Great blog, btw.

Rosario Scollo said...

The download is impossible.

RapidShare says: "This file has been deleted.
Reason: THIS FILE IS FORBIDDEN TO BE SHARED! Complaints received."

Please, another upload.

Congratulations for your fantastic blog, thanks very much for the opportunity to listen rare records.

Many regards from Sicily (Mirabella Imbaccari, province of Catania).

Anonymous said...

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I've been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!